A few weeks ago, my wife and I had the opportunity to lead a bible study as guest leaders because my father-in-law was on a missionary trip to Indonesia. My wife and I decided to speak on the topic of being “like a child”. We wanted to explore what this meant? What Jesus meant by it? and what this would like look as an adult. That is what we are talking about this week, so read on…

“At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who, then, is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me” (Matthew 18:1-5, NIV). 

To fully understand the above statement, we have to understand what characteristics a child possesses that an adult might not, think on that for a moment and then look at my list below:

  1. Wonder – A child has a sense of wonderment. When they hear a bible story for the first time, like Jonah they listen with such amazement as they hear how Jonah was swallowed by a big fish. As an adult, these stories have become common and we tend to listen with an “I’ve heard that a thousand times…” attitude.
  2. Reliance – A child trusts their caregiver for all basic needs like food, water, shelter, clothes, etc. An adult works for their basic needs and therefore has a sense of entitlement, “I earned this” and “I look after myself” seem to be the thoughts that fill our minds. However, we need to learn to be fully reliant on Christ as our caregiver. After all, God is the one directing our lives, we do not look after ourselves, and it is only through God’s generosity, that we have what we have.
  3. Trust – A child entrusts their safety to their caregivers. For an example, when on a road trip a child doesn’t question the plans on getting from Point A to Point B, they just sit back and relax and enjoy the ride. As adults, we tend to question everything. We are all on one big perpetual road trip called life, and we need to stop questioning God on which turns to make. Let us sit back, relax and let Him steer.

There may be more examples and comparisons one can make between how a child views life and how an adult views life. However, the point is this: children are pure in heart and motive, their faith is unwavering. If you question that, just think of how strongly most kids hold on to the belief in Santa Claus, until they are eventually let in on the secret that he is not real (at least in that sort of way). The same is true of the belief a child has in Jesus, when they truly learn about Him.

To put it plainly, it is harder for an adult to live out Christianity, and to actually do what Jesus tells us to do because as an adult we are more analytical about life, and we tend to be more careful. We need to stop being careful and live an unsafe life (see my earlier post on this topic here) and let Jesus lead us where He wants to lead us. We need to believe that God is truly who He says He is and believe that like a child would believe that. That is really the end point of this post, to get us thinking about how we can live like a child in all areas of our lives.

___________________________________________

#SMARTgoals update:

Last weigh in = -1.8lbs (I got sick last week and couldn’t complete my workouts, but I started strong this week and am pressing forward)

Book: School has got the best of me, but I am still reading Simplify by Bill Hybels. I will finish it eventually!

Follow me on this blog by subscribing for updates and follow me on Twitter to connect! @kifftastic

God Bless,

Heath

