Hello and welcome to my blog. This is the very first post for Ordinary Guy. Extraordinary God. and I want to personally thank you for stopping in and giving it a read. I want to take just a few moments to share my vision for this blog. I want it to be a place where people can connect and relate to the topic of wanting to live for more. More than just ourselves, or our family, friends, money, etc. I want this to be a place where we all learn (myself included) to strive for the extraordinary that God has for all of us. I hope that you learn some things and I hope you teach me some things. And now, on to the first post!

I credit the above words on the cover image of this post to the band Switchfoot. It was in their song, “Thrive” that I heard the lyrics for the first time. TheĀ  concept is easy to understand, thriving instead of surviving, but it was when I attempted to think about the application of such a concept that I was struck with just how hard the concept was. For example, most of us have bills we need to pay, which means most of us have to work a job that we wouldn’t choose to work to pay said bills. Aside from the once to twice a year break away to experience something new, we live in our normal daily routines. Wake up, eat, go to work, come home, eat, attempt to relax (or not depending on your current situation), go to sleep, repeat. This is the definition of the ordinary life. One that I am currently living. This is also the definition of surviving, not thriving.

I understand that most of us do not have the luxury of running out and quitting our day jobs to live out our dreams. Believe me, if I had that luxury, I would have done so a long time ago. However, we do have the ability to complete the following steps to step closer to living an extraordinary life. These steps are:

1. Pray – Spend time daily in prayer to God, who is full of extraordinary life. Asking God to give you steps to take you from ordinary to extraordinary.

2. Be Proactive – Instead of wasting the majority of your free time on meaningless things, take some time to focus on what you have been hearing in your prayer time and writing out your dreams, ambitions, goals. Then figure out small action steps to move closer to those. However, don’t get me wrong, there are times when we need to “veg out” and do something that requires little thought (for me, that is playing some video games).

3. Be Accountable – Once you are armed with some dreams, ambitions and goals, find someone who can hold you accountable. This person needs to be someone who you fully trust to keep you accountable and keep you on track. Think of someone who is an encourager and a good listener and who is available. (Spouse, Best Friend, Pastor, etc.) Hold weekly meetings to discuss your progress towards the extraordinary.

This is the time when all of us make resolutions, and personally, I have made too many and followed through on almost none of them. I have lived in my own pity party long enough to know that blaming the lack of extraordinary life on other people or circumstances does nothing to bring change. You cannot rely on other people, or other things to bring change to your life. You can count on yourself with God’s help, though.

So, starting now, take the time to complete and set up the steps above. Implement them into your daily routine and then follow through. Doing so will bring you closer to God, closer to extraordinary and closer to thriving.

“Those who trust in their riches will fall, but the righteous will thrive like a green leaf” (Proverbs 11:28, NIV).

In my next post, I will share with you the goals that I have set myself as well as some other practical tools that may help you on your extraordinary journey. Stay tuned…

